Cocke County Clerk

Cocke County Clerk
Cocke County Clerk2018-02-15T12:39:27+00:00

Jan Brockwell – County Clerk

Jan Brockwell County Clerk

Thank you for the privilege to serve as your County Clerk.

The County Clerk is a constitutional officer and is elected by the people for a term of four years. The specific work of the office is prescribed by the Legislature. Duties of the office range from Secretary to the Cocke County Legislative Body and taxation duties of the State. Chairman of the Records Commission. Secretary to the Beer Board, Notary Public applications, Septic Tank Permits, Manufactured Home Permits. We issue marriage license, business license and Driver License. I am the County River Agent for eleven Rafting Companies.

Important Information

Jan Brockwell – County Clerk
Elected 2014

Office Location:
111 Court Avenue
Room 101
Newport, Tennessee 37821

Phone: (423) 623-6176
Fax: (423) 623-6178

This office is not something I do by myself, my employees are:

Shalee Benson – Chief Deputy

Lydia Shelton – Supervisor

Gary Hagerman – Driver License

Deputy Clerks:

  • Nicole Wiley
  • Dianne Bates
  • Lesley Wylie
  • Terra Stewart
  • Megan Gregg
  • Danielle Smith

Office support staff:

  • Judy Hensley

County Records/Archivist:

  • Chris Hoaglan
  • Tammy Ellison – Assistant – office is located in the annex